About The Digital Archives

The New York Philharmonic Leon Levy Digital Archives was launched in February 2011, and currently comprises more than 1.3 million pages, including almost 14,000 printed programs, marked conducting scores, business documents, and photographs. When completed, the online collection will contain every document in the New York Philharmonic Archives from 1842 through 1970, more than 3 million pages — including correspondence, marked scores and parts, contracts, and minutes from meetings of the Board of Directors — as well as all public documents from 1970 through today, including marketing materials, press releases, and annual reports.

Since its launch in February 2011, the New York Philharmonic Leon Levy Digital Archives has been visited more than 1.2 million times, with over 5.5 million pages viewed. Almost 40% of all visitors are repeat users, and 13% of all visits are by those who have returned between 10 and 200 times to the site, indicating the sustained research value of the Digital Archives. Over the last year alone, the number of pages viewed has grown by 25% and the number of unique visitors has grown by 21%. This magnitude of research would not be possible without the digital availability of the material, as there would be no way to physically accommodate so many interested researchers.

Current material available in the Digital Archives includes:

  • 1,789 scores marked by Leonard Bernstein, Andre Kostelanetz, and others
  • 16,198 music parts marked by Philharmonic musicians
  • 13,882 printed programs
  • 5,550 business and planning folders
  • 16,517 photographs and images

All documents and the photographs themselves have been photographed — not scanned — by Ardon Bar Hama and his team using innovative and advanced techniques to achieve the highest quality. The images are managed in a Hadoop-based system configured by a team of developers at Technology Services Group (TSG) in coordination with the Philharmonic's Digital Archives team headed by Digital Archivist/Project Manager Kevin Schlottmann.

The New York Philharmonic Archives, the oldest and most comprehensive collection of any symphony orchestra, contains approximately six million pages that date back to its founding in 1842, with holdings that include correspondence, business records, orchestral scores and parts, photographs, concert programs, and newspaper clippings, as well as concert and broadcast recordings dating from the 1920s.